Art @ your Library

An exciting and interactive program series that will stimulate your body and your brain! ART ROCKS!

January-March 2014 - Celebrate Theater

Rhyming Dust Bunnies: Ready for Fun!  kids

Join us for a live performance inspired by the fantastic, comedic books of Jan Thomas. Kids will laugh out loud as they participate in this interactive theatrical event that combines puppetry and acting. Recommended for ages 3-7.

Tuesday, January 14 10:00 a.m. Tesson Ferry
Thursday, January 16 10:00 & 11:30 a.m. Eureka Hills
Friday, January 17 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Tuesday, January 21 10:30 a.m. Thornhill
Thursday, January 23 10:00 a.m. Lewis and Clark
Friday, January 24 10:00 a.m. Indian Trails
Monday, February 10 6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Thursday, February 13 2:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Tuesday, February 18 10:00 a.m. Cliff Cave
Tuesday, February 25 10:00 a.m. Weber Road
Tuesday, March 4 10:00 a.m. Florissant Valley
Friday, March 7 10:00 a.m. Headquarters
Monday, March 17 2:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Tuesday, March 18 10:00 a.m. Grand Glaize
Wednesday, March 19 10:00 a.m. Mid-County
Wednesday, March 26 6:30 p.m. Rock Road
Thursday, March 27 10:00 a.m. Prairie Commons


Celebration of Circus  kids

Ever feel like you have a three-ring circus in your own home? Bring your little monkeys to enjoy this interactive circus experience. There will be juggling, a high-energy reading of "You See a Circus, I See..." by Mike Downs, and a memorable performance by a real-life professional circus performer. Ages 3-6. Registration required.

Tuesday, January 7 10:30 a.m.               Oak Bend               
Thursday, January 9 2:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Friday, January 10 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Tuesday, January 28 10:00 a.m. Bridgeton Trails
Thursday, January 30 10:00 a.m. Lewis and Clark
Tuesday, February 11 10:00 a.m. Tesson Ferry
Tuesday, February 18 10:30 a.m. Thornhill
Saturday, February 22 10:00 a.m. Eureka Hills
Thursday, February 27 10:00 a.m. Mid-County
Friday, March 7 10:00 a.m. Prairie Commons
Friday, March 14 10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone


The Parrot Pirate King  kids

Dastardly Gene and Gentle Henry need the audience's help in trivia, games and fun. There is a lot to boo and cheer about at this lively family play that teaches what is inside a person is what counts and that a person's differences or disabilities can actually be their gifts. Recommended for ages 2-12.

Friday, January 3 10:00 a.m.                  Grand Glaize             
Tuesday, January 21 7:00 p.m. Daniel Boone
Wednesday, January 29 6:30 p.m. Rock Road
Saturday, February 1 2:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Wednesday, February 12 6:30 p.m. Cliff Cave
Saturday, March 1 2:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Saturday, March 8    10:00 a.m. Indian Trails
Friday, March 14 2:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Saturday, March 22 2:00 p.m.  Weber Road


Act It Out with Commedia dell 'arte  kids

Children love to act things out and play games like charades. In this workshop, we will read about the Commedia characters and try acting out those characters ourselves. There will be fun pantomime activities and we will watch a pantomime performance by a professional performer. Ages 7-11. Registration required.

Tuesday, January 7 7:00 p.m.                Tesson Ferry
Tuesday, January 21 7:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Saturday, February 15 2:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Tuesday, February 25  7:00 p.m. Daniel Boone
Friday, March 14 6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Tuesday, March 25 7:00 p.m. Lewis and Clark


The Art of Magic  kids  Teen

Learn to captivate your family and friends through the art and skill of magic tricks. Your imagination will be inspired as you learn to perform simple "sleight of hand" tricks with basic household items. Ages 8-16. Registration required.

Tuesday, January 7 7:00 p.m.                    Rock Road
Thursday, January 23   7:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs    
Saturday, January 25 2:00 p.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Thursday, January 30 7:00 p.m. Indian Trails
Thursday, February 20  7:00 p.m. Tesson Ferry
Wednesday, February 26 7:00 p.m. Eureka Hills
Wednesday, March 5 3:30 p.m. Weber Road
Tuesday, March 11 6:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Monday, March 17 2:00 p.m. Grand Glaize
Saturday, March 22 2:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Tuesday, March 25 6:30 p.m. Prairie Commons


The Tortoise and the Hare  kids
One of Aesop's fables springs to life in this fun new musical adaptation performed by Repertory Imaginary Theatre Company. Recommended for grades K-3.

Friday, February 28                   7:00 p.m.
Doors open at 6:30 p.m. 
Headquarters               


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe  kids
C.S. Lewis' classic magical journey comes to life in this unique, imaginative touring adaptation performed by Repertory Imaginary Theatre Company. Recommended for grades 4-6.

Friday, March 14                      7:00 p.m.
Doors open at 6:30 p.m. 
Headquarters               

 

© Copyright 2014. St. Louis County Library. All rights reserved. 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis MO. 314-994-3300 Contact Us