Art @ your Library

An exciting and interactive program series that will stimulate your body and your brain! ART ROCKS!

October-December 2014 - Celebrate Visual Art

Preschool Collage  kids

Let your preschooler explore all sorts of textures and mediums as we get messy creating collages. Ages 3-6. Registration required.

Friday, October 3 1:00 p.m. Headquarters
Friday, October 3 6:30 p.m. Eureka Hills
Wednesday, October 8 10:00 a.m. & 2:00 p.m. Meramec Valley
Friday, October 10 10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone
Thursday, October 16 2:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Friday, October 17 10:00 a.m. Florissant Valley
Monday, October 20 10:00 a.m. Prairie Commons
Tuesday, October 21 10:00 a.m. Weber Road
Monday, November 3 2:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Friday, November 7 10:00 a.m. Grand Glaize
Tuesday, November 11 10:00 a.m. Lewis and Clark
Friday, November 14 10:00 a.m. Thornhill
Wednesday, November 19 10:00 a.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Friday, December 12 10:00 a.m. Indian Trails

 

Mouse Painting  kids

After reading the book "Mouse Paint," children will have an opportunity to combine both literacy and visual art in an interactive painting activity. Kids will learn about primary and complementary colors and create their own piece of artwork. Ages 3-8. Registration required.

Monday, October 6 6:30 p.m. Florissant Valley
Friday, October 10 10:00 a.m.                    Samuel C. Sachs
Thursday, October 16 10:00 a.m. Mid-County
Saturday, October 18 2:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Wednesday, October 22    6:30 p.m. Rock Road
Monday, November 10 7:00 p.m. Tesson Ferry
Friday, November 14 10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone
Saturday, November 22 2:00 p.m. Weber Road
Tuesday, December 2 6:30 p.m. Eureka Hills

 

Drips and Drops  kids
Free your inner artist as we allow our paint to run wild! Kids will take home a stunning flower pot after participating in a "paint pour" and other messy painting activities. Please wear old clothes to this event. Ages 7-11. Registration required.

Monday, October 6 4:30 p.m. Prairie Commons
Tuesday, October 7 6:00 p.m. Lewis and Clark
Wednesday, October 22 4:30 p.m. Oak Bend
Tuesday, October 28 7:00 p.m. Daniel Boone
Saturday, November 1 2:00 p.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Wednesday, November 5 7:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Thursday, November 13 2:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Tuesday, November 18 7:00 p.m. Thornhill
Thursday, November 20 7:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Tuesday, December 16 7:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Monday, December 29 2:00 p.m. Indian Trails
Tuesday, December 30 10:00 a.m.                   Headquarters


Pop Art Workshop  kids  Teen
Meet New York based pop artist Michael Albert who is known for making bright and colorful, highly detailed collages from cereal boxes and other consumer
packages. You will get a chance to work on a collage masterpiece of your own.
Recommended for ages 5 and up. Families welcome. Registration recommended.

Tuesday, October 14 7:00 p.m.                  Thornhill
Wednesday, October 15 2:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Wednesday, October 15 6:30 p.m. Rock Road
Thursday, October 16 10:00 a.m. Prairie Commons
Thursday, October 16 4:00 p.m. Weber Road
Friday, October 17 10:00 a.m. Bridgeton Trails
Saturday, October 18 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Saturday, October 18 2:00 p.m. Mid-County


Stagecraft  kids  Teen
Learn the process that goes into designing for the stage with hands-on activities and demonstrations. Be a designer for a show and use materials to build a model set. Ages 10-15. Registration required.

Wednesday, October 29 4:30 p.m.                   Prairie Commons  
Wednesday, November 5 7:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Saturday, November 8 2:00 p.m. Thornhill
Tuesday, November 18 6:30 p.m. Rock Road
Saturday, November 22 2:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Saturday, December 6 2:00 p.m. Tesson Ferry


Giant Origami  kids  Teen
Paper folding is an intricately beautiful and ancient art. What happens when we use giant sized paper? Giant art! Test your paper-folding skills with us as we create larger-than-life paper sculptures. Ages 10-15. Registration required.

Wednesday, October 1 7:00 p.m.                    Florissant Valley     
Wednesday, November 5 6:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Wednesday, November 12 4:00 p.m. Headquarters
Thursday, November 13 7:00 p.m. Indian Trails
Friday, November 14 6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Tuesday, November 18 7:00 p.m. Eureka Hills
 Thursday, November 20 7:00 p.m. Tesson Ferry
Wednesday, December 3 3:30 p.m. Weber Road
Thursday, December 4 6:30 p.m. Cliff Cave
Tuesday, December 9 6:00 p.m. Lewis and Clark
Thursday, December 11 4:30 p.m. Grand Glaize


Sharpie Tie-dye  Teen
Tired of the regular tie-dying method that always looks the same? Want to get more creative and detailed? You will be amazed at what you can create with a Sharpie and a white t-shirt. T-shirts will be provided but feel free to bring your own. Ages 12-18. Registration required.

Wednesday, October 8 6:30 p.m.                     Rock Road
Friday, October 17 7:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Tuesday, October 21 7:00 p.m. Eureka Hills
Thursday, October 23  7:00 p.m. Headquarters
Thursday, October 23 7:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Monday, October 27  6:00 p.m. Lewis and Clark
Thursday, October 30 7:00 p.m. Tesson Ferry
Wednesday, November 5  3:00 p.m. Weber Road
Tuesday, November 11  7:00 p.m. Thornhill
Saturday, November 15  2:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Saturday, November 15  2:00 p.m. Mid-County
Thursday, November 20  7:00 p.m. Daniel Boone
Tuesday, November 25  6:30 p.m. Prairie Commons
Wednesday, December 3  7:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Friday, December 5   6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Thursday, December 11  7:00 p.m. Indian Trails
Tuesday, December 16  6:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Friday, December 19  6:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Monday, December 22  4:30 p.m. Grand Glaize
Tuesday, December 30  6:30 p.m. Samuel C. Sachs


Graffiti Art  Teen
Learn the ins and outs of aerosol art. Express your creative side while using spray paint cans, rollers and other graffiti art tools. Ages 12-18. Registration required.

Wednesday, October 1   6:00 p.m.                   Rock Road          
Saturday, October 4  2:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Monday, October 6   6:00 p.m. Lewis and Clark
Saturday, October 11  2:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Saturday, October 18  2:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Saturday, October 25  2:00 p.m. Thornhill

 

© Copyright 2014. St. Louis County Library. All rights reserved. 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis MO. 314-994-3300 Contact Us