The 2012 Edgar Awards

Gone by Mo Hayder


The Mystery Writers of America hold a banquet each Spring to recognize achievement mystery and crime writing. The nominees for the Edgar awards, named for the founding father of detective fiction Edgar Allan Poe, were announced on January 19, the 203rd anniversary of Poe's birth. The awards banquet was held Thursday, April 26. Mystery fans ordering tickets for the awards gala online were advised about appropriate attire: Dress to Kill.

Mo Hayder's "Gone" won in the Best Novel category. In Hayder's fifth novel featuring detective Jack Caffery a serial carjacker is targeting vehicles with children.
Best First Novel was awarded to Lori Roy's "Bent Road." In this tense novel, Arthur Scott moves his wife and children from turbulent Detroit in 1967 to his hometown in Kansas where his sister was killed twenty years earlier.

Candice Millard's "Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President" won the award for Best Fact Crime. In this compelling account of the death of President James Garfield, Millard profiles assassin Charles Guiteau and writes about inventor Alexander Graham Bell's attempts to help save Garfield's life. An earlier post about this book can be found here.

Nominees and winners in all categories are listed on the Edgar Awards website.

--Jennifer A., Headquarters


© Copyright 2017. St. Louis County Library. All rights reserved. 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis MO. 314-994-3300 Contact Us