Celebrated Novelist Kate Christensen Presents a Delicious Literary Memoir

Date: 
Thu, 04/24/2014 (All day)
The St. Louis County Library Foundation is pleased to present critically-acclaimed novelist Kate Christensen for a discussion of her literary memoir, "Blue Plate Special: A History of My Appetites" on Thursday, May 8 at 7:00 p.m. at Library Headquarters, 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd.
 
The program is free and open to the public. Books will be available for purchase at the event from Left Bank Books.
 
The event is co-sponsored by Maryville University.  
 
For readers of M.F.K. Fischer and Ruth Reichl, Kate Christensen presents a delectable memoir about the transformative power of food. "Blue Plate Special" is a deeply personal narrative in which food becomes the vehicle for exploring a life.
 
Here, novelist Kate Christensen tells her own story, from her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a legal activist who ruled the house with his fists to her extraordinary success as a PEN/Faulkner Award-winning author. Hungry not just for food, but for love and a sense of belonging, Christensen writes honestly about her struggle to find the contentment she has always yearned for. A beautifully written account of a knockabout life, full of sorrows, pleasures--and, of course, food--"Blue Plate Special" is a delicious reading experience.
 
Kate Christensen is the author of six previous novels, most recently "The Astral." "The Great Man" won the 2008 PEN/Faulkner Award. She has published reviews and essays in numerous publications, most recently the New York Times Book Review, Bookforum, O, Elle, and Gilt Taste. She writes an occasional drinks column for The Wall Street Journal called "With a Twist." 
 
Program sites are accessible. Upon two weeks notice, accommodations will be made for persons with disabilities. Contact St. Louis County Library by phone 314-994-3300 or visit www.slcl.org.
 
###
© Copyright 2014. St. Louis County Library. All rights reserved. 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis MO. 314-994-3300 Contact Us