SLCL Presents the Award-Winning Memoirist Gail Caldwell

Date: 
Wed, 03/19/2014 (All day)
The St. Louis County Library Foundation is pleased to present Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Gail Caldwell, author of the highly-acclaimed memoir "New Life, No Instructions" on Wednesday, April 2 at 7:00 p.m. at Library Headquarters, 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd.
 
The program is free and open to the public. Books will be available for purchase at the event from Left Bank Books.
 
The event is co-sponsored by Maryville University.  
 
For readers of Anne Lamott, Cheryl Strayed, and Mary Karr, Gail Caldwell presents an exquisite memoir about family, friendship, love, loss, and how we find the strength to begin again. "New Life, No Instructions" is the uplifting story of a turning point that changed one woman's life in ways she could never have dreamed.
 
In midlife, Gail Caldwell felt she was facing the abyss: in a span of 10 years, she'd lost her best friend and her mother. Making matters worse, the polio she'd contracted in her infancy had reduced her stride to a painful limp, and it seemed things would only get worse. Then, a routine doctor's visit revealed that a common surgery could restore her gait. She would soon discover how many other things it would restore: her sense of herself was not in decline, but powerful and potent; not alone, but part of a loving community, whose outpouring of support after the surgery amazed her.
 
At once a love letter to Caldwell's indomitable and unwavering mother and the story of a woman's journey from loss and isolation to a sense of belonging, agency, and hope, "New Life, No Instructions" is a powerful and inspiring testament to the unexpected transformations life can bring.
 
Gail Caldwell is the author of the bestselling memoirs "Let's Take the Long Way Home" and "A Strong West Wind."  The longtime chief book critic of the Boston Globe, she received the Pulitzer Prize for Distinguished Criticism in 2001. "Let's Take the Long Way Home" was a New York Times bestseller and the winner of the New England Independent Booksellers Award for nonfiction. 
 
Program sites are accessible. Upon two weeks notice, accommodations will be made for persons with disabilities. Contact St. Louis County Library by phone 314-994-3300 or visit www.slcl.org.
 
###
 

 

© Copyright 2014. St. Louis County Library. All rights reserved. 1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis MO. 314-994-3300 Contact Us