Back to top

STArt @ your Library

STArt @ your library - Science, Technology and Art Programs for Kids | January-December 2018

July-September 2018

January-March 2018  | April-June 2018 | July-September 2018 | October-December 2018


Family Fun Night: Harry Potter Fest  Kids  Teen

Butterbeer, quidditch, wands and more. Fun for all ages. Costumes encouraged.

Friday, July 13 6:30-8:00 p.m. Headquarters

Art Explorers  Kids

Explore new art forms through painting, drawing, sculpting and printmaking. Presented by Freedom Arts and Education. Ages 3–7. Registration required.

Saturday, July 7 10:00 a.m. Grant’s View
Wednesday, July 18 6:30 p.m. Florissant Valley
Saturday, August 11 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Thursday, September 6  6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Saturday, September 15 10:00 a.m. Oak Bend
Saturday, September 22  10:00 a.m. Bridgeton Trails

Sidewalk Art  Kids

Create chalk art with the sidewalk as your canvas. Ages 3–5. Registration required.

Friday, July 6 10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone
Saturday, July 14  9:00 a.m.  Prairie Commons
Saturday, July 14  2:00 p.m.  Florissant Valley
Monday, July 23 10:00 a.m.  Bridgeton Trails
Friday, August 3 1:30 p.m. Weber Road
Monday, August 13 3:30 p.m. Lewis & Clark
Thursday, September 6 10:00 a.m.  Cliff Cave
Monday, September 10 10:00 a.m.  Headquarters
Tuesday, September 11  10:00 a.m. Meramec Valley
Friday, September 14 2:00 p.m. Eureka Hills
Tuesday, September 18 6:00 p.m.  Jamestown Bluffs

Bug Buddies  Kids

Explore insect defenses in fun, hands-on activities and make your own bug model to take home. Presented by Mad Science. Ages 3–5. Registration required.

Tuesday, July 10   2:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Monday, August 13 10:00 a.m. Grant’s View
Thursday, August 30 10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone
Friday, September 14 10:00 a.m. Prairie Commons
Wednesday, September 19 10:00 a.m. Eureka Hills
Thursday, September 20 10:00 a.m. Cliff Cave

Water Wonders  Kids

Find out how liquid can defy gravity, learn how paper can stay dry underwater and discover how air and water interact. Presented by The Magic House. Ages 3–5. Registration required.

Monday, July 2 10:00 a.m. Bridgeton Trails
Monday, July 9 10:00 a.m. Indian Trails
Monday, August 6 11:00 a.m. Lewis & Clark
Friday, August 17 10:00 a.m. Florissant Valley
Tuesday, August 21 10:00 a.m. Oak Bend
Wednesday, August 29 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Tuesday, September 18 10:00 a.m. Weber Road

Number Nonsense  Kids

Play with numbers through story, song and crafts. Ages 3–6. Registration required.

Wednesday, July 11  10:00 a.m. Lewis & Clark
Thursday, July 19  10:00 a.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Thursday, August 9 10:00 a.m. Meramec Valley
Monday, August 13 10:00 a.m.  Oak Bend
Tuesday, August 14  10:00 a.m.  Indian Trails
Thursday, August 16  10:00 a.m. Daniel Boone
Monday, August 20 10:00 a.m. Samuel C. Sachs
Wednesday, August 29 10:00 a.m. Natural Bridge
Thursday, August 30 10:00 a.m.  Cliff Cave
Saturday, September 8 2:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Monday, September 10 10:00 a.m. Grant’s View
Tuesday, September 25 2:00 p.m.  Prairie Commons

World Percussion  Kids

Learn to play a wide array of percussion instruments from around the globe while learning the musical cultures of Cuba, South America and Africa. Presented by Freedom Arts and Education. Ages 8–12. Registration required.

Saturday, July 7 2:00 p.m. Grant's View
Wednesday, July 11 4:30 p.m. Headquarters
Saturday, July 14  2:00 p.m. Prairie Commons
Tuesday, July 17 2:00 p.m.   Jamestown Bluffs
Tuesday, July 24 6:00 p.m. Natural Bridge
Saturday, August 25  10:00 a.m. Cliff Cave

Carnival of the Animals  Kids

Enjoy Camille Saint Saens’ musical suite, “Carnival of the Animals,” while you go on an adventure of music, art and dance. Presented by DaySpring School of the Arts. Ages 5–8. Registration required.

Friday, July 13 2:00 p.m. Oak Bend
Tuesday, July 17  2:00 p.m.  Daniel Boone
Saturday, July 21 10:00 a.m.  Eureka Hills
Monday, August 6 10:00 a.m. Florissant Valley
Saturday, August 11 2:00 p.m. Indian Trails
Saturday, August 18 2:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails

Map Your World  Kids

Create a map of your own world, real or imagined. Ages 7–11. Registration required.

Friday, July 20 2:00 p.m. Eureka Hills
Saturday, August 11   2:00 p.m. Florissant Valley
Saturday, August 11   2:00 p.m. Prairie Commons
Wednesday, September 12 4:30 p.m. Headquarters
Tuesday, September 18 7:00 p.m. Rock Road
Monday, September 24   6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Tuesday, September 25 6:00 p.m. Oak Bend

Stirring after Sunset  Kids

Get up close to live nocturnal animals as we immerse ourselves in nature at night and learn which animals are nocturnal and diurnal. Presented by Saint Louis Zoo. Ages 5–10. Registration required.

Friday, July 6 10:00 a.m. Florissant Valley
Thursday, July 19  10:00 a.m.  Daniel Boone
Wednesday, August 1 3:00 p.m. Rock Road
Tuesday, August 14 4:00 p.m. Bridgeton Trails
Wednesday, September 12 4:00 p.m.  Grant’s View
Wednesday, September 19 2:00 p.m. Natural Bridge

Space Phenomena  Kids

Probe the mysteries of meteors and bounce around satellite light in this phenomenal program. Take home a Mad Science® Space Telescope. Ages 6–10. Registration required.

Monday, July 16 2:00 p.m.. Eureka Hills
Friday, August 3 10:00 a.m.  Prairie Commons
Friday, August 3 6:30 p.m. Meramec Valley
Wednesday, August 8  4:30 p.m.  Headquarters
Wednesday, September 5 6:30 p.m. Weber Road
Saturday, September 8 2:00 p.m. Indian Trails

Create It Yourself  Kids

Explore the science of how stuff works. Bring your creativity for these fun CIY projects! Presented by Saint Louis Science Center. Ages 7–11. Registration required.

Thursday, July 26 2:00 p.m.  Samuel C. Sachs
Monday, July 30  2:00 p.m. Jamestown Bluffs
Thursday, August 9   6:00 p.m.  Lewis & Clark
Monday, August 20  6:00 p.m. Cliff Cave
Saturday, September 29 2:00 p.m. Oak Bend